Iowa Economic Development Authority Technology Commercialization Committee Meeting Minutes ELECTRONIC MEETING July 8, 2021 9:30 a.m.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Donna Ramaeker Zahn Hank Norem David Bernstein Rich Hichwa Davin Hills Emily Harris

OTHERS PRESENT:

Rita Grimm, IEDA Katie Rockey, IEDA Mallory Stanek, VentureNet

Jill Lippincott, IEDA Paul Stueckradt, IEDA Adrienne Greenwald,

Kerri Yost, IEDA Anne Price, BioConnect Iowa VentureNet

CALL TO ORDER

TCC Chair Donna Ramaeker Zahn called to order the meeting of the Technology Commercialization Committee (TCC) of the Iowa Economic Development Authority at 9:36 a.m. A quorum of the TCC was established with the following members present: Donna Ramaeker Zahn, Rich Hichwa, Hank Norem, Davin Hills, David Bernstein, and Emily Harris.

Approval of Minutes – May 13, 2021 TCC Meeting Minutes

MOTION: David Bernstein moved approval of the minutes of the May 13, 2021 TCC meeting, seconded by Davin Hills. Motion carried unanimously.

Public Comment

No comments were made.

Jane Burroughs and Michael Schaeffer joined the meeting at 9:44 a.m.

SBIR/STTR Outreach Program Requests

Direct Spinal Therapeutics, Inc. (DSTI)

Bio:Neos

Morloc, LLC

Superior Statistical Research
Skroot Laboratory, Inc.
3D Health Solutions

MOTION: Rich Hichwa moved that the TCC recommend that the IEDA Board award up to \$50,000 to each of the other businesses listed above, \$25,000 upon receipt of an SBIR/STTR award and \$25,000 upon submission of a Phase II proposal during the 12-month period after the date of IEDA Board approval, seconded by Davin Hills. Roll Call Vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

Closed Session

MOTION: Davin Hills moved that the TCC go into closed session at 9:52 a.m. pursuant to *Iowa Code* sections 21.5(1)a, 15.118, 22.7.3, and 22.7.6 to review and discuss records IEDA is required to treat as confidential under Iowa law. The motion was seconded by David Bernstein Roll Call Vote was taken Motion carried unanimously.

Jane Burroughs and Michael Schaeffer left the meeting at 9:52 a.m.

TCC members present for closed session – Hank Norem, Davin Hills, Donna Ramaeker Zahn, Rich Hichwa, Emily Harris, and David Bernstein. Others present during closed session: IEDA - Rita Grimm, Paul Stueckradt, Katie Rockey, Jill Lippincott, and Kerri Yost; VentureNet Iowa – Adrienne Greenwald and Mallory Stanek; and BioConnect Iowa - Anne Price.

Michael Schaeffer and Curt Nelson of FarmPost joined the meeting at 10:02 a.m. and left at 10:17 a.m.

Katie Rockey left the meeting at 10:31 a.m. and returned at 10:35 a.m.

Burch LaPrade of Gain Compliance joined the meeting at 10:33 a.m., and left at 10:56 a.m.

Hank Norem left the meeting at 11:06 a.m. and returned at 11:10 a.m.

Paul Stueckradt joined the meeting at 11:06 a.m.

The TCC took a break from 11:13 a.m. to 11:18 a.m.

The TCC Committee contacted David Blake of Blue-9 by phone at 11:19 a.m. and ended the call at 11:21 a.m.

The TCC Committee contacted Steve Sherlock of Pablow by phone at 11:28 a.m. and ended the call at 11:36 a.m.

Open Session

<u>MOTION</u>: Davin Hills moved that the TCC go back into open session at 11:42 a.m., seconded by David Bernstein. Motion carried unanimously.

FarmPost - DeWitt

MOTION: Hank Norem moved that the TCC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a \$100,000 Demonstration Fund award to be repaid through loan payments with terms as follows: the award amount paid back at an interest rate of 3%, a 5-year loan term, and a 6-month deferral, seconded by Rich Hichwa. Roll call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

Gain Compliance – Des Moines

MOTION: Rich Hichwa moved that the TCC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board deny the application for a \$250,000 Innovation Acceleration Propel Fund award and approve a \$100,000 Demonstration Fund award to be repaid through loan payments with terms as follows: the award amount paid back at an interest rate of 3%, a 5-year loan term, and a 6-month deferral, seconded by Davin Hills. Roll call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

Blue-9 – Maquoketa

<u>MOTION</u>: David Bernstein moved that the TCC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board deny the request to amortize the remaining balance over 36 months and instead approve amortizing the remaining balance over 24 months, seconded by Rich Hichwa. Roll call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

Pablow, Inc. - Des Moines

<u>MOTION</u>: Davin Hills moved that the TCC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board deny the request to modify the interest rate and approve the request to amortize the remaining balance over 24 months with an upfront payment of \$24,000 and approve the request to defer the loan for 4 months, seconded by David Bernstein. Roll call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Technology Commercialization Committee is scheduled for September 9, 2021 at 9:30 a.m.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business at the meeting of the Technology Commercialization Committee, meeting adjourned at 11:46 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Kerri Yost, Board Secretary

Board Administrator

Donna Ramaeker Zahn

Donna Kamarka Tee

TCC Chair